Skip to content

Anthony Scarpone-Lambert, who is graduating in a few weeks, is the first nursing student to win this award. The President’s Innovation Prize was created by University of Pennsylvania President Amy Gutmann to strengthen the University’s commitment to innovation under the Penn Compact 2020.

by: Ed Federico, Associate Director, Public and Media Relations, Penn Nursing Marketing and Communications, April 2021

Today, Gutmann announced the recipients of the 2021 President’s Engagement Prize and President’s Innovation Prize, which are awarded annually. These awards empower a graduating Penn senior, or a team of graduating seniors, with $100,000 (plus a $50,000 living stipend per team member) to envision and implement an innovative, commercial venture that makes a positive difference in the world. The prizes are the largest of their kind in higher education.

“The recipients embody Penn’s core commitment to leadership through service, a most vital and urgent calling during these challenging times,” said Gutmann.

“Our great Penn students are producing the ideas that will change the future. These exciting projects demonstrate their strong commitment to helping others—and to finding solutions to the most urgent global challenges,” said Provost Wendell Pritchett.

Scarpone-Lambert won for Lumify Care, which aims to improve the patient experience by developing innovative tools and resources needed to support frontline health care workers. Its flagship product is the uNight Light, a wearable LED light allowing health care workers to illuminate their workspace while decreasing patient sleep disturbances. Scarpone-Lambert is mentored by Therese S. Richmond, the Andrea B. Laporte Professor of Nursing and associate dean for research and innovation in at Penn Nursing.

“I hope this win inspires future nursing students and nurses to realize their innovative power and to go after their ideas,” said Scarpone-Lambert.”

The Prizes are generously supported by Emerita Trustee Judith Bollinger and William G. Bollinger, in honor of Ed Resovsky; Trustee Lee Spelman Doty and George E. Doty, Jr.; Emeritus Trustee James S. Riepe and Gail Petty Riepe; Trustee David Ertel and Beth Seidenberg Ertel; Wallis Annenberg and the Annenberg Foundation; and an anonymous donor. Student recipients will spend the next year implementing their projects.

Back To Top